Here, finally, are pictures of my house.
And these are my roommates, Carole and Dtii.
Unless Dtii is sleeping or playing a sport, he is generally stuffing his face with food. I’m sure, one of the reasons why we ended up roommates.
Sorry these pictures are mostly going to end up sideways. I'll edit this later so that this is presentable.
And this is my room. I strategically shot this one so that you can only see 1/3 of it. The other 2/3 is covered with piles of my dirty clothes and piles of my clean clothes...not necessarily in two different piles. You might notice that I have no furniture. It's true, no bed, just a mat and blankets. I've been thinking about getting a dresser, but then I second guess myself as to whether or not I will actually USE it. Maybe I'll just have this stack of empty drawers in the midst of my piles of clothing, and really, what's the point of having that? And I kind of like that everything's really easy to rearrange. At least for the moment.
Today the running team and I ran a 5K race. It was fun! I'd never competed in a real race before. A little weird at first because there are about 700 people at the starting line...and the race was in Chiang Rai. None of the streets are particularly wide, so it was kindof a chaotic stampede for the first kilometer. It reminded me a little bit of a scene in that stupid movie, war of the worlds, where civilians are fleeing from the underground aliens, vaporizing them one by one. I'd never been in an environment surrounded by herds of people running really hard and really competitively. It was really good, it made me raise the bar a bit for myself. I have to wait to post a picture of one of our kids, Tom, with his trophy, winning 3rd place in his age category. It's on Carol's camera. We were so proud of him and he was so excited to have gotten third place, despite the fact that he apparently placed first in his age range at the last race. He’s 12, not quite 5 feet tall yet feet and he still ran the 5K in about 20 minutes. I ran it in a little over 21 minutes, to give you an idea. Not that I'm an athlete, but I'm a lot taller than he is and in better shape than I've been in a while. And I am sore. It hurt my legs to take of my sneakers when I got home. I used to be a rubber band when I was a kid and I've never really perfected the art of stretching.

4 Comments:
Cool House! Even sideways.
I currently run a 5k in just over 26 minutes. My goal is 25. And that is on a treadmill. And I have been working on increasing my speed. For some time now.
Wow! Your new house! It's cute & there's room to park the motorscooters! And your roomies! You are all set now! But what's with all the flags? Who decorated & why????
21 minutes? Nice! That's under 7 minutes per mile. I want it down to 18.5 minutes next time!
Hey Jamie!!
Long time! I have been thinking about you and hope you are well. I love the shots of your pad. Really nice. Nice run time too, I think I could run that fast if someone had a pack of cigarettes dangling in front of me.. ha ha.
Love you!
-Clare
Post a Comment
<< Home