My memories of highschool, college, papers and tests is that things actually got done because there were repercussions for not doing them. School and professors... they were moderately fearful to the extent that I did my work most of the time, even if it meant leaving it the very last possible moment. And if things couldn't get done because i couldn't find time to write the paper between stage crew, eating, doing other work and playing dr mario on my computer, i would at least have had the decency to lie about it.
Exactly how am I respond to my 12 year old fourth grader, Nok, who tells me "I'm too lazy to work today. And I didn't feel like doing my homework last night." Couldn't she have at least tried to spice it up a little bit? Then she proceeded by disrupting class every 10 seconds shouting "booring boooring boooring" while lying on her back and feet waving in the air. Finally she sat up straight at her desk. But only to comment that I sure forgot a whole bunch of Thai in the three months I was gone. "How are we supposed to learn English from you when you speak Thai the way that you do?" She was going out of her way to push my buttons, and it was working. If there were a principle's office to send her to, I would have sent her there.
Yesterday at a staff soccer game, the kids on site cheered our players "Go team go!" and Nok sat behind the rest of the cheerleaders shouting, "Die team die!" with a smile on her face.
I hate to admit to this, but at one point Nok actually was one of my "favorites" during my last term. She was always focused in my class and expressed enthusiasm for being there. But since October, when I left, she has had a growth spurt and she now has what the thai staff refer as "arom mai dee" which means, a really bad attitude. In other words, this is puberty. And she's no longer a sweet little girl. And she's no longer a she. She is a genderless monster and I obviously lack the command of the language to have a warm felt chit chat with her.
It's things like these that make me not want to have children. They're way too moody and shifty and I take behavior like that way too personally from people who are 12.
