After having written a blog entry lamenting about work and my dog, I immediately jumped on my motorbike and rode to Chiang Rai. It was refreshing to see a group of graduates from the organization’s centre and to catch up with some people I hadn’t seen in a while. Half of these guys living at this new centre in Chiang Rai were in that immersion night class I taught my first couple of months of being in Thailand. I also know for a fact that these guys aren’t particularly happy in their new environment in Chiang Rai. They’re swamped with random work and they miss Mae Sai and all of their friends from home.
One of the reasons I had come up there was to help them with their English homework. A staff member living on site asked me that while I looked for other volunteers to live on the centre in Chiang Rai, I just come up to visit every now and then to see how they were doing. So in the midst of helping one girl with her homework, it was non-chalantly brought up that her mother had died last week.
This was one of the girls from that night class from way back. One of the more stellar, modest and dedicated students I’ve ever had, and thus, one of my favorites, though I know you’re not supposed to have any of those. And I was shocked for her. “What?” I asked her, and she just fixed her posture and expanded her smile, opening her mouth to display her pearly whites. “Yes, last week.” And this was still a seemingly non-issue, for her and all of her friends in the room. It’s very Thai to have minimal displays of emotion…and this is awkward because I’m not Thai and I don’t know how to brush off pieces of information like that so casually. So for a few seconds I looked at her with my eyebrows knit in sympathy and remorse, not knowing what I was supposed to say. “No one told you?” she asked me gently. I shook my head and said, “No.” And after a few seconds of my looking at her silently, she let out a forced chuckle and said, “Jamie, stop it. I don’t want to cry.” And her eyes started watering though she was still smiling.
Of all the things I have come to learn, understand and appreciate about Thai culture, I am perpetually mind boggled by the whole concept of death and how it is dealt with in these parts. I’ve managed to make an ass of myself on numerous occasions while confronted with these issues. Some of you might recall that I once crashed a funeral with my motorbike. For the same occasion, I was invited to eat dinner by a one of the bereaved, a person whom I had never met. Then this one time I made an ass of myself speaking to a staff member over lunch. He had asked me about my family life; how many siblings I had and what they all did, etc. Then he told me about his older sister having passed away the year before…and where I come from this is normally where the other person offers their condolences, and so I did that but I really offended him. “Just don’t say that sortof thing to a Thai person,” was his advice to me. Maggie once told me how one of her classes was interrupted with news of one of the kids’ mothers dying. Her classmates’ reaction to the prospect of attending a funeral was similar to my reaction to someone giving me tickets to a U2 concert.
In the case of this 16 year old girl, whom I remember had already lost a father a few years ago, I couldn’t help but display sympathy for her. I didn’t want to cross any cultural boundaries, putting her on the spot with my reaction in front of her friends so she wouldn’t be able to save face…and I didn’t want her to think I didn’t care….having decided there was nothing appropriate to really say or do I just patted her on the shoulder and told her, “If you ever want to talk about it, let me know.” And I let her change the subject.
Later on that night I met up with a staff member, Dtii, a pretty good friend of mine now, and asked him if he knew about Gnew’s mother, and he said “Yeah, yeah! I went to the funeral.” I asked him what happened to her and he paused for a few seconds, looking away from his bowl of noodles and said, “I don’t know,” and he dipped his spoon into his bowl again. I couldn’t just drop it, for whatever reason, and I insisted on getting an explanation from him: Why is it soo wrong to be upset in front of people in this country? Yes, he’s Thai, but he’s also a friend, and I felt comfortable enough asking….He attempted to give me a very concrete answer, dropping his spoon into his bowl and clasping his hands while looking up at the ceiling, “You see, crying is like a disgr-…no..it’s just important to –no…you have to let people know that you’re str-. No.. you know what, I can’t explain it, I’m sorry.” I was actually amused at this response and decided at that point to just drop it. Some things are just the way they are and there’s no point trying to understand “why,” I guess. In this particular case, I really don’t get it and I’m pretty sure I never will. I'll stumble through the rest of my term here being awkard in all of those situations, not really sure what appropriate behavior is supposed to be.