So…this weekend, I kicked back, as planned. Except Saturday morning there were loud explosions going on outside my window starting at 6:30 AM, I thought we might be under attack by the Burmese. Except we weren’t. It was just Chinese New Years which means alllll day long, people were setting off fire crackers, EVERYWHERE. The owner of the internet café I go to was throwing a party with a cooked duck (head still attached!), candles and beer. He even gave me a complimentary beer along with the coffee candy he normally gives me whenever I visit.
Then on Sunday, I was supposed to go horseback riding, but that didn’t happen. I was on my way to pick up one of the volunteers, Lorna, on my bike. Just a block away from her house, I drove through an intersection and got clocked by an SUV coming from the side street on the left. I just remember the initial crash into my left leg, my moped falling, and my body flying in slow motion onto the pavement closer to the other side of the street. I lay down there for a second, wind knocked out of me and took my helmet off for some air. Then I looked behind me and saw my bike laying down and the pieces that had broken off all around it. “Damn,” was my reaction, just under my breath, ignoring exactly how lucky I was to be able to even process what had just happened. I was still laying in the middle of the intersection, so I hoisted myself up with the support of my helmet and started limping to the side of the road.
So the driver gets out of the SUV and runs immediately to inspect the front of his car to see the damage that was done. He must have seen that I was walking and so his priority then became his car, but this still struck me as insensitive, especially because as far as I was concerned, this was totally his fault. Then I looked at where his car was coming from: there was no traffic sign there, no stop sign. This surprised me, and then for a second, I was horrified at the prospect of this accident being my own fault. But I looked at where I was coming from: no traffic sign there either. No stop sign in any 4 directions of the intersection, and so at the end of the day, it’s no one’s fault except for Mae Sai’s crappy urban planning.
The crash apparently made a loud noise because within a minute, tons of people had come out of their houses to see what happened, including Lorna, who heard the crash from her house down the street. A crowd of maybe 10 people started surrounding me. One guy even came out of his house with a first aid kit and iodine to clean up my scratches…I didn’t have that many coz I was wearing jeans and a denim jacket: they were mostly on my palms and my left leg where I made impact with the car. The police came by, surprisingly pretty quickly. I tried calling Cindy to come over and act as my translator, but the cops were apparently willing to dismiss the whole thing in about 2 minutes because I couldn’t communicate with them in Thai and so they just left. Mae Sai’s finest: gotta love ‘em. I was really curious to know, was this considered my fault? It’s not a new biker thing, coz I garauntee you, I would have done the same thing if I were behind the wheel of a car. Lorna tried to convince me it was the SUV guy’s fault because he was coming out of a smaller side street, but when did that become a rule? This country, even this town, has traffic lights and stop signs in most intersections, why wasn’t there one here? So apparently there weren’t gonna be any charges pressed or anything, the SUV driver gave me his phone number (his name is pronounced “Nice.” I thought it was ironic). I don’t even know if the concept of pressing charges exists over here, but even if it does, I doubt I’m eligible to do so without a license.
I just wanted to go home and lay back some more; take a raincheck on the whole horseback riding thing, obviously. I insisted that Cindy take Lorna horseback riding and some really nice Thai local drove me to my guest house…where I live on the third floor. The receptionist gave me the key looking a little shocked, and I limped to the third floor, gripping the railing with both hands the entire way up. By the time I got to my room I was out of breath. I changed out of my jeans and into some pj shorts and just collapsed into bed. Then my phone rang; it was reception saying a car was ready to take me to the hospital, just to make sure everything was ok. Seconds later, my door knocked. I limped up to get to the door and there were 3 staff members, who insisted on picking me up and carrying me into the car.
Note: I’m about 165 pounds and these were three Thai guys picking me up: ie, they were kindof tiny and they struggled a lot to carry me. So I went to the hospital, got X rays, the whole shebang. No fractures or anything, like I’d suspected coz I’d be in a LOT more pain otherwise. I did, however, sprain my ankle. They ace bandaged it and they told me I had to stay off it for a few days. They gave me tons of drugs, which I’ve yet to take because I’m really not in any pain. I was all ready to whip out my health insurance card when I was handed the bill on my way out: 160 baht (that’s $4), so I paid in cash and I was driven home. And carried to my room again. The guest house managed to find me a crutch to walk with(they’re so nice), which the hospital didn’t have, and now I’m more or less an invalid. I left my bike at Lorna’s and now Cindy or another volunteer has to pick me up to go to work until my ankle gets better and I brave the bike again.
So that was my weekend. And I had tons of time to sit at my computer to write about all this, lying in bed with my foot propped up on a pillow. That’s why this entry is as long as it is. It’s not really my intention to lament to the world about it: I literally just have nothing better to do. I should realize how lucky I am, but right now, I’m just bitter about the lack of traffic signs in town.

8 Comments:
OMG! I am so glad you are okay. Lorna is right. Small streets yield to big streets. It is the same here. But fault does not matter. You are lucky it is only a sprain. Please take care of yourself & be careful when driving! I am also glad to know that there were people who came to your aid! O, I forgot to tell you Gung hay fat choy!!
JAMIE! This is SO NOT FUNNY... except for the part where I gave Winston a heart attack telling him you were hit by a car. BE CAREFUL! From now on you have to drive like a little old lady and stop at ALL INTERSECTIONS, and whenever you see another car coming from the opposite direction.
That's pretty scary! You're lucky it wasn't much worse, but I guess you know that. Hope the scratches and stiffness go away soon and that you can put the pieces of your motorbike back together. The main thing is that YOU'RE in one piece.
Sounds like you're having a fascinating time there. We think your blog stories are great. (but let's not make them TOO dramatic. Love, Dad.
Hi Jamie - Larissa here, Kathleen told me about your blog and i've been enjoying it tremendously since its conception, but have only felt compelled to post a comment after hearing you being hit by a car. Really glad to hear that you came out ok. I've spent a lot of time in India, and from what i can tell, Thai traffic is probably pretty similar, so i feel i must bestow another piece of helpful advice on how to handle third world traffic - small streets may indeed yield to larger streets, but it is also understood that the opposite is true with the size of your vehicle! Little "fish" always yield to bigger ones! And pedestrians NEVER have the right of way! Hope you feel better soon, can't wait for the next post -
hey - I think Larissa's "fish" theory is also true with boats!
No more accidents!!!! i read the first line about the crash and had to walk away from the computer, regulate my breathing, and come back again to finish the rest of the story.
I'm SO glad you were wearing a helmet.
I don't even have a joke on hand to make! Be safe!
Dear Jamie,
Thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you for wearing a helmet... but maybe it's time to invest in some full-body armor, just in case. Oh, and if you could try to avoid getting hit by cars in the future, that would make all of us feel a little better, I think.
Love and love,
Emily
Jamie!!! you poor poor thing!! i'm sending you lots of kisses from over here!
i'm so so glad you're ok darling.
that SUV driver can rot in hell as far as i'm concerned.
Post a Comment
<< Home